Policing in Australia Since 1788 - In the Line of Duty
| About | Memorial | Copyright | Links |

Tasmanian Police Force divisions

TAS 1900
Tasmania Police

A Royal Commission was established to report on the administration of the Tasmanian Police Force. It recommended greater organisational efficiency and led to the appointment of Commissioner J E C Lord in 1905, who held the position for 34 years. Lord divided Tasmania into five Police Districts, each under the control of a Superintendent. They were located at Hobart, Launceston, Deloraine, Zeehan, and Devonport.

Bertillon's anthropometry
Detective John Christie carte de visite 1900
Equine cargo for the Boer War
Gold Escort 1900
Morgan Police Station c1900
Penong Camel Patrol
Portrait of W.E. Parry-Okeden, 1895-1905, second Queensland Commissioner of Police
Queensland Police Christmas card, 1900. 1 of 2.
Queensland Police Christmas card, 1900. 2 of 2
Sea Rescue c1900
South Australia Police Band, Adelaide c1900